The Roadmap to an effective MCSE Desktop Infrastructure preparation

Certification: Microsoft MCSE - Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert

The Desktop Infrastructure Certification examines the candidate’s skills of Windows server for several service areas. This certification proves the expertise and ability to perform operations on the Windows server in the real time scenario. The certification is designed in a way that it can evaluate the skill set of remote services and virtualization. The certification also helps in developing the skills required for the managing the desktops and other devices for providing access from another location and providing security too.

The MCSE’s Desktop Infrastructure is a certification for the professionals who want to boost their IT career and to show that they have the level of knowledge for maintaining the Windows server. If an individual wants to earn the Desktop Infrastructure certification, he has to pass the five levels of exam. Before the MSCE’s Desktop  Infrastructure level, an individual has to pass the MCSA’s Windows Server level. 

There are five levels, which a candidate needs to pass in order to get his Desktop  Infrastructure certification, Exam 410, 411, 412, 415 and 416. If a candidate completes the first three levels of exam i.e., exam 410, 411, 412 he receives the MCSA’s Windows Server (2012)certification. Now, the next two levels are required to get the Desktop Infrastructure certification. The five different levels of the exam are designed to cover several aspects such as Exam 410 covers the Installation and configuration part of Windows Server, Exam 411 is for the Administration of Windows Server, Exam 412 covers the configuration of an advanced Windows Server and the related services. After these three levels, the next two exams are Exam 415 which covers the Implementation part of the Desktop infrastructure and the last level i.e. Exam 416 is for implementation of the desktop applications. If a candidate passes all these levels is awarded with the MCSE’s Desktop Infrastructure certification.

If an individual wants to prepare for the MCSE’s Desktop Infrastructure certification, firstly he should take a look of the points which are covered in the different levels of the exam.

Overview of the different exams in the Desktop Infrastructure certification:

  • Exam 410: The exam contains the installation and configuration of the Windows Server. The exam is designed in a way that it has the different parts such as installing the serve, configuring the server and then configuration of the local server.  The configuration part contains the points such as configuring files and sharing the access and also the configuring the print and document service.  It includes configuring of server for remote activities. Creating the virtual machine settings and virtual storage, networks, etc. The installation and administration of active directories is included.  This section has installation domain control, creating and managing the active directory users, machines and groups. Configuration of security policies, application policies and firewall configuration.
  • Exam 411: The level contains the management of the server which includes the management of  server images, server monitoring, configuring files, file distribution system, file server resource manager. The configuration of file and disk, DNS, VPN, routing, etc.
  • Exam 412: The exam has the configuration of advanced Windows server. The exam covers the configuration of network load balance, clustering, management of clustering and virtual machine. It includes configuration of storage, file server, backups, domain, etc.
  • Exam 415: The exam covers the implementation part of desktop infrastructure. It includes the desktop image maintenance. The planning of virtualization, remote desktop connection, gateway and remote desktop web access is also covered. The configuration of remote- client, desktop security is covered in the exam 415. The exam also covers the implementation of infrastructure, monitoring of virtual machine and creating the virtual collections.
  • Exam 416: The exam covers the implementation of desktop application which includes several aspects like planning and implementation of applications, updates in the desktop images via applications, implementation of virtualization environment, configuration of remote applications. This exam covers the designing of desktop application and virtual application.

Proper and effective study plan is needed to follow to prepare for all the exams. The candidates have to focus on all aspects equally. There is a course for the preparation of the Desktop Infrastructure certification exams. Such course is offered by the coaching institutions and the online courses are also available. But you have to check that all the parts mentioned above are surely covered in the course.

Modules covered in the preparation plan of the Desktop Infrastructure certification:

  • The modules of determining the desktop management.
  • Implementation of desktop security.
  •  Management of desktop images.
  • Planning the desktop using Microsoft tools.
  • Planning desktop by using System configuration manager.
  • Planning and implementation of remote desktop infrastructure.
  • The management of user state virtualization for the desktop.
  • Planning and implementation of updates to assist the desktop.
  • Protection on the desktop from malware and data loss.

The modules are required to make the candidate eligible for the exam.  The course offered for Exam 416 covers the following modules

  • Designing the strategy for application distribution.
  • Diagnosing the compatibility of applications.
  • Designing the virtualization of application.
  • Preparing the virtual applications.
  • Planning and implementation of application updates.
  • Monitoring  application utilization and the performance of the application.

All these modules should be covered in the course of Exam 416. If the online courses with these modules are available, then you can go for that option. The length of the course for the desktop infrastructure certification preparation is six days.

The online classroom training programs are also available for the candidates. This program includes the voice and audio features. The candidates can interact with the instructor. The notes and slides are also available for preparation and practice for the exams.


January Sale! 30% Discount for All Exams!

This is a ONE TIME OFFER. You will never see this Again

Instant Discount
Test-King Testing Engine

30% OFF

Enter Your Email Address to Receive Your 30% OFF Discount Code Plus... Our Exclusive Weekly Deals

A confirmation link will be sent to this email address to verify your login.

* We value your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address.


Your 30% Discount on Your Purchase

Save 30%. Today on all IT exams. Instant Download

Test-King Testing Engine

Use the following Discount Code during the checkout and get 30% discount on all your purchases:

Start Shopping